Bicycle Thieves (Ladri di biciclette) (The Bicycle Thief) Cast, Box Office Collection, Budget, Storyline

Bicycle Thieves (Ladri di biciclette) (The Bicycle Thief)

This landmark Italian neorealist drama became one of the best-known and most widely acclaimed European movies, including a special Academy Award as “most outstanding foreign film” seven years before that Oscar category existed. Written primarily by neorealist pioneer Cesare Zavattini and directed by Vittorio DeSica, also one of the movement’s main forces, the movie featured all the hallmarks of the neorealist style: a simple story about the lives of ordinary people, outdoor shooting and lighting, non-actors mixed together with actors, and a focus on social problems in the aftermath of World War II. Lamberto Maggiorani plays Antonio, an unemployed man who finds a coveted job that requires a bicycle. When it is stolen on his first day of work, Antonio and his young son Bruno (Enzo Staiola) begin a frantic search, learning valuable lessons along the way. The movie focuses on both the relationship between the father and the son and the larger framework of poverty and unemployment in postwar Italy. As in such other classic films as Shoeshine (1946), Umberto D. (1952), and his late masterpiece The Garden of the Finzi-Continis (1971), DeSica focuses on the ordinary details of ordinary lives as a way to dramatize wider social issues. As a result, The Bicycle Thief works as a sentimental study of a father and son, a historical document, a social statement, and a record of one of the century’s most influential film movements.

Release date: Dec 13, 1949
Production Company: ENIC
Box Office Collection:
Genre: Drama

Bicycle Thieves (Ladri di biciclette) (The Bicycle Thief) Caste and Crew
Director: Vittorio De Sica
writer: Cesare Zavattini,Vittorio De Sica,Oreste Biancoli,Adolfo Franci,O. Biancoli,Suso Cecchi d’Amico
Lamberto Maggiorani,Enzo Staiola,Lianella Carell,Elena Altieri,Vittorio Antonucci,Gino Saltamerenda,Giulio Chiari,Michele Sakara,Fausto Guerzoni,Mario Meniconi,Nando Bruno,Sergio Leone,Memmo Carotenuto,Umberto Spadaro